The Instagram Marketing Blog

The 30 Most Active Museums and Art Organizations on Instagram

Wondering which museum to visit this weekend? Look no further than on Instagram, where museums invite you for a virtual walk before going for the actual visit.

Location-based organizations like museums can know a lot of success through Instagram.

With Geo-tagged photos from their locations, museums can truly understand their visitors’ behaviors. They can measure the success of particular exhibitions and tweak their displays according to the feedback received in the photos.
For example, during the Damien Hirst exhibition at the Tate Modern in London, a simple Instagram search could tell you that the Shark was very popular among the audience.

We present you a list of 30 Museums and Art Organizations that are active on Instagram.

MoMa @themuseumofmodernart

themuseumofmodernart

Met Museum @metmuseum

metmuseum-instagram

Brooklyn Museum @brooklynmuseum

brooklynmuseum-instagram

Barbican Centre @barbicancentre

barbicancentre-instagram

LACMA @lacma

lacma-instagram

Musée du Louvre @museelouvre

museelouvre-instagram

SF MoMa @sfmoma

sfmoma-instagram

Guggenheim Museum @guggenheim

guggenheim-instagram

Museum of American History @amhistorymuseum

amhistorymuseum-instagram

New Museum @newmuseum

newmuseum-instagram

American Museum of Natural History @amnh

amnh-instagram

BAM Brooklyn @BAM_Brooklyn

bam_brooklyn-instagram

Hammer Museum @hammer_museum

hammer_museum-instagram

Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles @mocalosangeles

mocalosangeles

Tate Gallery @tategallery

tategallery-instagram

Frida Kahlo Museum @museofridakahlo

museofridakahlo-instagram

Malba @museomalba

musomalba-instagram

Gagosian Gallery @gagosiangallery

gagosiangallery-instagram

Children’s Museum of Indianapolis @childrensmuseum

childrenmuseum-instagram

British Museum @britishmuseum

britishmuseum-instagram

Eastman House @eastmanhouse

eastmanhouse-instagram

MCA Chicago @mcachicago

mcachicago-instagram

Amsterdam Tattoo Museum @tattoomuseum

tattoomuseum-instagram

Philadelphia Museum of Art @philamuseum

philamuseum-instagram

Museum of Old and New Art @monamuseum

monamuseum-instagram

Orientalist Museum, Qatar @orientalist_museum

orientalist_museum-instagram

Museum of Fine Arts, Houston @mfahouston

mfahouston

Laguna Art Museum @lagunaartmuseum

lagunaartmuseum-instagram

Beamish Museum @beamish_museum

beamish_museum-instagram

Frick Collection @frickcollection

frickcollection-instagram

All the museums on this list were added to the Nitrogram 50. Do you have more suggestions? Let us know in the comments section below!

  • Pingback: The 30 Most Active Museums on Instagram | Nitro...

  • stacey

    Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History @santacruzmah

    • http://nitrogr.am/ Nitrogram

      Good suggestion @disqus_zf1Hpy13Lu:disqus. Like the Museo de Tessuto, we’ll add this museum to the Nitrogram 50: http://50.nitrogr.am.

      Best

  • http://www.arttrav.com arttrav

    The @museodeltessuto in Prato is one of the few Italian museums active on instagram – unfortunately in this country, in most museums, visitors cannot take photos inside the museum, so we don’t have the advantage of fan-created photographic content.

    • http://nitrogr.am/ Nitrogram

      Hi @arttrav:disqus, thanks for the insights on that Italian limitation, we didn’t know about it.

      The list is stopped at 30 museums but we’ll add the Museo del Tessuto on the Nitrogram 50: http://50.nitrogr.am

      Thanks for your comment!

      • http://www.arttrav.com arttrav

        Wonderful, thanks! they will be very happy!

  • bridgyxpotato

    I think it’s really great that you put this list together, however, most of the list was slightly predictable. These are all the major museums that have the staff to put a lot of emphasis into social media. I would be interested in seeing a list of small- and mid-sized museums that are being exceptionally innovative on Instagram.

    • http://nitrogr.am/ Nitrogram

      @bridgyxpotato:disqus indeed that could be an interesting list to make: smaller museums making waves on Instagram with little resources. Do you have any suggestions to make on that department?

      • bridgyxpotato

        Of course now that I’m on the spot I can’t think of any. Part of my curiosity is because I work at the Akron Art Museum and our Instagram could and should have a stronger presence. I’ll look into it and get back to you, is there an email that would be good to use?

        • @museumnerd

          It’s @museumnerd here. I don’t want to sign into Disqus, but here’s a crowdsourced list of many more: http://instagram.com/p/PMjAuwArQ5/#

          • http://nitrogr.am/ Nitrogram

            Hi @museumnerd:disqus , thanks for the comment! Your list was the starting point for ours actually!

            I’m going to check out these museums and add them to the Nitrogram 50 shortly (http://50.nitrogr.am)

            Cheers,
            Thibaut

          • bridgyxpotato

            Thanks! I’ll be using that for my research. I added the Akron Art Museum. Like I said, I’m working on making it a stronger presence so this will help.

  • Barbara Moore

    I love this aggregation.Thank you!!

    • http://nitrogr.am/ Nitrogram

      You’re welcome!

  • London Canal Museum

    London Canal Museum has joined Instagram. There are no restrictions on photography by visitors at LCM so we hope to see plenty of pictures tagged #canalmuseum in the future.

    • http://nitrogr.am/ Nitrogram

      Hi Canal Museum, we’re happy to see you join Instagram and hope that our resources will help you jumpstart your account.

  • Pingback: Las fotos efímeras de Snapchat | Comunicación Cultural

  • Pingback: Kommunen i sociala medier | Kreafonbloggen

  • http://acediscovery.blogspot.com acediscovery

    We’ve got a bunch of staff at the Horniman Museum and Gardens in London sharing behind the scenes photos – which we hope people will enjoy. We also love seeing what others are sharing and snapping at the Horniman. http://instagram.com/hornimanmuseumgardens

    • http://twitter.com/ThibautDavoult Thibaut Davoult

      Thanks for sharing. I’ll update the list when we’ll have enough additions to make.

  • http://www.aqua.org/ National Aquarium

    This is a great list! Thanks for putting it together, Thibaut.

    Any interest in including museums with living collections? We love our community on Instagram and have engaged with many of our industry peers over the last two years!

    • http://twitter.com/ThibautDavoult Thibaut Davoult

      That’d make for a good future list. I also may update this one soon. Thanks for letting me know.

  • Marcelo Pimentel

    And, where is @instagrafite, the biggest street art gallery??

    • http://twitter.com/ThibautDavoult Thibaut Davoult

      That’s pretty great. Does Instagrafite have a physical exhibition space?

  • Pingback: Instagram: Collecting Images | PP8107W14 - Digital Applications for Collections Management

  • Pingback: El auge de Instagram como herramienta de comunicación | Comunicación Cultural

  • Didem

    Really helpful list, thank you! Some additions from Turkey for those interested: @istanbulmodern, @peramuzesi, and @sakipsabancimuzesi.

  • Pingback: Eleventh Day | My Internship Journal

  • Pingback: The 30 Most Active Museums and Art Organizations on Instagram | Einstein in het Museum

Start your Nitrogram Demo now!

Our free demo showcases Nitrogram with Insights on several preset terms:

You can access the demo by signing in with Instagram.

×